W. Wesley Eckenfelder Graduate Research Award

2015 Recipient: Bryan D. Coday

Advisor: Professor Tzahi Cath, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Colorado School of Mines

Bryan D. Coday received a BS in Engineering and an MS in Environmental Science & Engineering from the Colorado School of Mines. After completing his MS, he continued to pursue his passion for research and development of advanced water treatment technologies as a PhD student under the advisement of Prof. Tzahi Cath in Civil & Environmental Engineering at Mines. His graduate work has focused on the advanced development of engineered osmosis, osmotic dilution, and ultrafiltration membrane processes for the treatment of impaired water resources. Specifically, his doctoral dissertation investigates membrane separation and advanced water treatment technologies for dewatering of drilling and well stimulation wastewaters and produced water from unconventional oil and gas exploration. He will be graduating with his PhD degree with at least nine peer reviewed publications in several prestigious journals, more than three conference proceeding papers, and more than 20 conference presentations.

Mr. Coday has also remained strongly engaged in outreach activities, including serving as the president and vice president of the AWWA/WEA student chapter at Mines, conference chair of the 10th Annual Rocky Mountain Student Research Conference in 2013 (participation of 9 universities), and led the AWWA Desalination Community website in 2014, being responsible for the collection of important news—informing the research and professional communities. His dissertation, presented on March 18, 2015, is titled Engineered Osmosis Technology for Desalination of Oil and Gas Exploration Wastewaters: Assessment of Membrane Performance and Process Sustainability.

Past Recipients





Maureen Kinyua

Sarina Ergas, University of South Florida


Roland Cusick

Bruce Logan, Pennsylvania State University


Xie He

Francois de los Reyes, North Carolina State University

This award is given annually to recognize a student whose research contributes to the knowledge pool of wastewater management. The award selection will be based on original, innovative research of publishable quality and other factors as provided below.

Both Master’s and Ph.D. students are eligible. The award will consist of a plaque and a cash honorarium of $1,500.00 for the student and a plaque for the major faculty advisor. A $500.00 travel allotment to student recipients who attend the AAEES awards ceremony will also be provided. This award selection committee is administered jointly by AEESP and AAEES, and is co-sponsored by HDR. Eligible applicants will be judged based on academic program performance (45%), professional or community service (15%), engineering project accomplishment (25%), purpose and goals (10%), and any other evidence provided (5%).

Electronic nomination packages should include:

  1. A letter from the faculty advisor of the applicant, indicating that the applicant has completed all substantive requirements for the graduate degree sought, and has earned a minimum GPA of 3.3/4 in the current program,
  2. Documented successful completion of the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam,
  3. Two academic letters of recommendation, detailing the contributions of the research to the profession,
  4. Copy of a publication (or manuscript submitted for publication) derived from the subject research for which the applicant is the first author – 25 page limit,
  5. A professional resume of the student applicant, listing all professional affiliations, publications, honors, service, and relevant experience, and
  6. An applicant prepared statement of professional purpose in pursuing the graduate degree and goals for the first five years of professional practice – (limit 500 words).

An applicant remains eligible up to one calendar year following graduation and receipt of the degree earned.

For more information on the W. Wesley Eckenfelder Graduate Research Award, go to https://aeesp.org/awards/eckenfelder-graduate-research.

Questions may be directed to the chair of the AAEES Foundation Awards Committee:

Christian Davies-Venn, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE
Vice President
PEER Consultants, P.C.
888 17th Street, NW, #850
Washington, DC 20006
e-mail: daviesc@peercpc.com; Tel: 202-478-2060

Professor Wesley Eckenfelder, Jr. is considered the “godfather” of industrial wastewater management. He was a great colleague and mentor to numerous practitioners, professors, and students. His prolific contributions to the environmental engineering discipline included writing over thirty books, serving as a principal in several environmental engineering firms, and receiving twenty-eight awards from a wide range of professional societies. In addition, Dr. Eckenfelder was an accomplished professor with a teaching career that included positions at Manhattan College, the University of Texas at Austin, and Vanderbilt University. He was known internationally as an early developer and innovator of biological treatment technology that is now considered a standard skill employed by practicing professionals, worldwide.

Information on where to submit a nomination package can be found here: http://www.aeesp.org/awards/eckenfelder-graduate-research.

Back to Top