The 2024 application cycle for the Environmental Engineering and Science Foundation Scholarships is now closed. Thank you to all of the applicants.

Header Image

Paul F. Boulos Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award*

*Formerly known as the Innovyze Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award

2024 Paul F. Boulos Excellence in Computational Hydraulics/Hydrology Award Recipient

Md Fahim Salek

Advisor: Dr. Lauren Beckingham, Auburn University

Boulos Winner

I graduated from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, Bangladesh, with a B.Sc. in Civil Engineering. I started my M.Sc. in Civil Engineering with a concentration in Water Resources and Environmental Engineering in 2017 at Florida Atlantic University, FL, where I worked as a research assistant for two years.

My research involved studying the effectiveness of electrochemical oxidation in treating landfill leachate. Later, I decided to pursue a Civil Engineering Ph.D. at Auburn University, focusing research on geochemical interactions, and I obtained my degree in summer 2023. During this time, I worked on understanding mineral reaction kinetics to enhance predictive capabilities for subsurface geological modeling in addressing climate and energy challenges.

I am currently employed at Auburn University as a postdoctoral fellow. My ongoing research concerns characterizing regional caprock formations and understanding mineral reaction kinetics in caprock fractures related to CO2 sequestration.

Past Recipients






Zhoacheng Wang, Ph.D.

Enrique R. Vivoni, Arizona State University

Arizona State University


Tom JW Postma

Catherine A. Peters, Ph.D., BCEEM; Michael A. Celia, Princeton University

Princeton University


Noemi Vergopolan da Rocha

Justin Sheffield

Princeton University


Jonathan L. Bradshaw

Richard Godfrey Luthy

Stanford University


Dylan Wood

Ethan Kubatko

The Ohio State University


Ahmed Abokifa

Pratim Biswas

Washington University of St. Louis


Qian Zhang

William P. Ball

Johns Hopkins University


Jennifer Jefferson

Reed Maxwell

Colorado School of Mines


Amy Dale

Elizabeth Casman and Gregory Lowry

Carnegie Mellon University

This award is given annually to recognize a student whose research contributes to the knowledge pool of in the area of Computational Hydraulics & Hydrology. The award selection will be based on original, innovative research of publishable quality and other factors listed below. Both Master's and Ph.D. students are eligible.

The award will consist of a plaque and a cash honorarium of $1,500 for the student and a plaque and cash honorarium of $500 for the major faculty advisor. A $500 travel allotment is provided to the student recipient to attend the American Academy of Environmental Engineers & Scientists (AAEES) Excellence in Environmental Engineering and Science Awards Luncheon. The award selection is administered jointly by a committee consisting of equal numbers of AAEES and AEESP members. The award is co-sponsored by Dr. Paul Boulos, BCEEM.

Eligible applicants will be judged based on the following criteria:

  1. academic program performance (35%),
  2. research accomplishment (35%),
  3. professional or community service (15%),
  4. purpose and goals (10%), and
  5. any other evidence provided (5%).

An applicant remains eligible up to one calendar year following graduation and receipt of the degree earned.

Complete nomination packages should include:

  1. Academic letter of recommendation from the faculty advisor of the applicant detailing the contributions of the research to the profession and also indicating that the applicant has completed all substantive requirements for the graduate degree sought, and has earned a minimum GPA of 3.3/4 in the current program,
  2. One additional academic letter of recommendation,
  3. Copy of a publication (or manuscript submitted for publication) derived from the subject research for which the applicant is the first author – 25 page limit,
  4. A professional resume of the student applicant, listing all professional affiliations, publications, honors, service, and relevant experience, and
  5. An applicant prepared statement of professional purpose in pursuing the graduate degree and goals for the first five years of professional practice – (limit 500 words).

Information on where to submit a nomination package can be found here:

Back to Top